Hello, Familiar Little Tear…

hello_familiar_little_tear

Hello, familiar little tear,

I thought that you might reappear,

and flush my face for deep regress

while demons wrestle holiness…

Through failure bred, you stumble south

and, salty, creep into my mouth,

as though from me you won’t depart –

re-enter, sleep and stain my heart…

You’ll quietly linger, loudly pour,

with promise of returning more.

I do not wish sad things to write –

instead, I wish for glimmering light,

yet deep inside emotions mine,

away from glorious design,

a darkness hangs around my ears,

awak’ning more accustomed fears.

Beyond the dark, I fail to see,

for devils swoop here, blinding me,

and hope seems distant, faint and fleeting,

the blackness evermore defeating.

Sing softly, friendly little tear.

I’ll clutch my pillow firmly near

while you may carry on your work

of trying me through blackish murk

until my heart with sadness fills

and hides itself ‘mongst daffodils.

Emma J. Ware

Leave a comment